Fear Not!

Leave a comment

January 4, 2011 by bobet888

…he came toward them walking on the sea.

Mark 6 :45-52


Jan. 5, 2011 Bible Reading and Gospel


I remember when I was a child, one magical power I wished I had is the ability to walk on water. And I had dreamed about it. And it was a thrill.

Jesus walked on water. Because he had seen his disciples having trouble with their boat being tossed by waves caused by strong wind. And the moment Jesus reached the boat and sat on it, the wind died down.

Today’s gospel teaches me how to conquer “fear” through Jesus. The Lord said “Take courage, it is I, do not be afraid!”. There’s nothing to fear in this life once we have Jesus.

What are the most common roots of our fears? Death… Losing our precious possessions… Somebody stealing our treasures… These are the roots of our fear.

That is why Jesus is telling us not to attach ourselves to this world and everything it offers. Because the more we possess this world, the more reasons to be afraid of.

Jesus, teach me to trust in you completely. Whatever troubles that will come my way, I know you will be there for me, telling me “not to be afraid” because you are my Lord, my Savior.

Leave a Reply

