Faith Conquers Fears

Leave a comment

January 29, 2011 by bobet888

Why are you terrified? Do you not yet have faith?

Mark 4:35-41


January 29, 2011 Bible Reading and Gospel


It feels like Jesus is asking me this question today. And it is a shame to realize that I still have no absolute faith in him. Beacuse there are still many things I am afraid of.

I am afraid to lose my life beacuse I feel I am not ready to leave this world yet. I am afraid to die a horrible death just like those people I saw in the news everyday. I am afraid to lose my earthly possessions. I am afraid to lose my honor and prestige in the eyes of others, because I always measure up my self-worth through their standards and judgement. I am afraid I will not achieve my dreams and aspirations. I am afraid that my plans will fail. These worries and fears, now the Lord is telling me, are sure indications of my lack of faith in God.

Faith is surrendering completely to God. Faith is never questioning God’s commands. Faith is never doubting God’s power. Just like what Abraham did when he had shown God his willingness to sacrifice his only son to Him.

Lord Jesus, teach me to trust in God absolutely. Teach me to rely on God completely. Give me the gift of faith so that I may not fear so many things anymore.

Almighty Father, thy will be done.

Leave a Reply

