Speak from a Clean Heart

Leave a comment

February 9, 2011 by bobet888

…what comes out of the man, that is what defiles him
From within the man, from his heart…

Mark 7:14-23


February 9, 2011 Bible Reading and Gospel


The Book of Proverbs is filled with warnings about the use of our tongues, the power of spoken words. Today, the words of Jesus remind me again that what comes out of my mouth, comes from within me – from my heart. If my heart is full of hatred, anger, disappointment, envy, insecurity, lust, malice, and evil intentions, then I might as well shut up my mouth and never utter a word. Because the moment I let loose these things, nothing good will happen to me and the people around me.

“Speak from our hearts” seems a good advice, but there is a need to examine our heart’s contents first.

I once told someone to stop lashing hurtful words once angry because it is difficult to take them back later when anger subsides.

Lord, help me guard my speech always. Whenever I’m hurt or angry, remind me to be silent, and pray instead. I wish to be clean and be worthy of your grace and blessing, I may start by taming my tongue – to stop myself from speaking if the words that will come out of me will only defile me.

Leave a Reply

