Are You Afraid of The Cross?

Leave a comment

February 18, 2011 by bobet888

Whoever wishes to come after me must deny himself, take up his cross, and follow me.

Mark 8:34 -9:1


February 18, 2011 Bible Reading and Gospel


Many are called, but only few are chosen. Jesus’ miracles of healing the sick drew so many people into him. But I can imagine some of them drifting away when Jesus told them that if they would decide to follow him, they must suffer as he suffered.

Today’s gospel tells me how to identify the cross I have to carry if I will follow Jesus. It is something that requires self-denial. It can be something that requires me to give up my dreams and aspirations, to give away something that I love, to let go of something dear in my life, to surrender things that give me comfort and security. When Jesus carried his cross, he made the ultimate sacrifice by giving up his divine status. He is the Son of God, he has the power to multiply two pieces of bread into thousands, to drive out demons, to cure the sick, to raise the dead, to return sight to a blind man, to make a paralytic rise from his bed, to make a lame jump with joy, to walk in the water, to calm a troubled sea,

Why did Jesus willingly submitted himself to suffering? Because this is the only way to conquer all the evil things in this world. When we hold on so much to the things in this world, it only shows that we love the creatures more than the creator. So Jesus demonstrated the ultimate way to show our love for God. That we are willing to give up everything for the sake of fulfilling His will.

Almighty God, let me not be afraid to pick up my cross and carry it. There is nothing to fear because you are also the source of our strength. And I believe that you will never give us a cross we can not carry. If my reward at the end of this difficult journey with Christ is a place in your kingdom, then I will embrace this suffering with all my heart and soul. Amen.

Leave a Reply

