The Church that Jesus Built

1

February 22, 2011 by bobet888

And so I say to you, you are Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church, and the gates of the netherworld shall not prevail against it. .

Matthew 16 :13-19


February 22, 2011 Bible Reading and Gospel


Acknowledging Jesus as our Lord and savior is just the first step in following a Christ-like life. Perfecting our faith comes next. A faith that must be grounded on solid foundation. Jesus asks of us a firm faith, a faith that can not be easily shaken by Satan.

Today’s gospel is reminding me of the church that Jesus entrusted to his disciple Peter who had a rocklike faith in him. The church that is essential to my growth as a Christian. Because following Christ does not mean an exclusive personal mission. Jesus is giving us the responsibility to build a church, and no one can buid a church alone. I am called to participate in a community, a congregation of hearts and souls who share a common mission and vision of serving God. A God who loves us so much it is only fitting we love him in return.

Lord, teach me to become a true Christian by being an active member of your church. Help me accomplish whatever responsibilities you have entrusted with me. Let me not be contented with bringing only myself to you, but give me the ardent desire of bringing others to your light and salvation, too.

One thought on “The Church that Jesus Built

  1. […] The Church that Jesus Built (bibletweets.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

