Happy With The Lord

Leave a comment

February 24, 2011 by bobet888

If your hand causes you to sin, cut it off.

Mark 9:41-50


February 24, 2011 Bible Reading and Gospel


The Lord never wants us to have an insipid existence. Jesus encourages us to be always happy, like salt that never loses its flavor and good use. How can we inspire others to follow him when the joy of his salvation is not reflected in our lives?

But let us be happy with good intentions. A happiness that does not create misery to others. A happiness that is not exclusive. A happiness that creates a ripple and everyone on its path will be sharing in it.

Jesus is asking us today: can we bring with us the source of our happiness to God’s kingdom? What if this source of happiness is like a great millstone around our necks and we have to swim our way to heaven?

Lord, let me listen to today’s Gospel call of letting go of my personal attachments that prevent me from living a life pleasing to God. Make me strong and resolute in detaching myself from the sources of my happiness that cause me to sin again and again. Restrain me from answering to my heart’s desire of always seeking the sinful pleasure this world offers. May I never exhaust God’s mercy for me. May God’s wrath never befalls me. Amen.

Leave a Reply

