God Forgives A Forgiving Heart

1

March 15, 2011 by bobet888

And forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us.

Matthew 6:7-15  


March 15, 2011 Bible Reading and Gospel


Just recently, friends asked me what made me decide to reconcile with another friend who have wronged me. For two years they made no serious attempt to appease the estranged friendship because they were convinced I had all the reasons to hate this person – it felt like bitten on the hand by a dog you tried to feed. They were really surprised when I initiated the reconciliation. And when they asked me why, I told them I want to be worthy of the Lord’s prayer. I want to ease the lump in my throat whenever I say the line “as we forgive those who trespass against us.” How about you? Are you worthy of the Lord’s prayer?

Jesus puts further emphasis on the part about forgiveness. He knows how hard it is for us to forgive. Yet he conditions God’s mercy towards us by our mercy towards others. This would be terrifying if Christ hadn’t already died on the cross and assured us of God’s forgiveness and won for us the strength we need to forgive others. His victory over sin, hatred, anger and death is my victory too.
– Fr. Timothy Walsh

Thank you, Lord, for teaching us how to pray. Thank you for the confidence and trust in our Father that your words inspire. Help me, so that the words of your own prayer may always be on my lips and in my heart. Amen.

One thought on “God Forgives A Forgiving Heart

  1. […] God Forgives A Forgiving Heart (bibletweets.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

