Let God Take Control

Leave a comment

March 19, 2011 by bobet888

…it depends on faith, so that it may be a gift, and the promise may be guaranteed to all his descendants…

Romans 4:13, 16-18, 22


March 19, 2011 Bible Reading and Gospel


God’s Plan Vs. My Plan
by Fr. Barry O’Toole

I believe that it happens to all of us from time to time. It happens that we plan an event or even just our schedule for the day. We work out all of the details, and we get excited about all of the good that is going to come about because of this preparation. Then, as we begin to execute our plans, things start going awry ; nothing works out right. This can be both frustrating and depressing. We begin to ask ourselves, “Where did I go wrong?” Thomas à Kempis once wrote: “Man proposes but God disposes.” This is exactly what happened to Saint Joseph. He had his plans for forming a marvelous family. He had chosen a beautiful wife, and they were betrothed. Everything was fine until she returns from a four month visit to her cousin’s house, and he discovers that she is pregnant. God’s plans and his plans did not seem to coincide. Do I have preconceived ideas for my own life that aren ’t matching God’s plan for me? Am I able to adjust to his way? What holds me back?

Lord, I feel insecure and fearful. What the future holds for me is uncertain. I am tending to rebel interiorly against the way things are working out. I fail to recognize that you hold the strings of my destiny in your tender, loving and fatherly hands. Help me overcome my egotism and lovingly embrace your plan, whatever it may be. Amen.

Leave a Reply

