Fill Our Hearts With God

Leave a comment

March 21, 2011 by bobet888

Jesus said to his disciples: “ Be merciful, just as your Father is merciful.”

Luke 6:36-38


March 21, 2011 Bible Reading and Gospel


Be Merciful
Fr. Paul Campbell

When we find ourselves being critical and judgmental towards others, it is helpful to reflect on how God has treated us. Look at his patience with our sins and faults. Look at how many times we have offended him and how many times he has forgiven us. As we allow his love to seep into our hearts and reflect on his goodness towards us, it should soften our hearts towards others. What we extend to others measures what we can receive from God. If we are small and petty, then there is very little room in our hearts for God’s love. We need to expand our hearts through daily exercises in charity.

Lord, I need your love to come in and soften my heart and my view of others. I find myself falling into criticism so easily. I need you to pour your love into my heart, so in my turn I can give to others the love I have received.

Leave a Reply

