Humble Before God

2

April 2, 2011 by bobet888

O God, be merciful to me a sinner.

– Luke 18:9-14

April 2, 2011 Bible Reading and Gospel

God sees everything. God knows everything. When we go to Him in prayer, he already knows what’s in our hearts even before we speak of it.

Today’s gospel reminds us about the right attitude in approaching God – with utmost humility. We come to prayer to praise Him and not ourselves. We must focus not on our good deeds because we have been already assured that we will not be left unrewarded. Instead, we must focus on our sinfulness because there’s never a day that we do not fall in it. We sin in our thoughts, speech, actions and negligence. We also commit sin but not aware of it, even these we must confess to God. We have nothing to be proud of before God.

Lord Jesus, teach me to be always humble before our Father. Give me the courage to always admit my sins to Him. And may the Almighty Father grants his mercy and his love to me. And may God through my utmost humility purifies my heart and soul so that I may be strong enough the next time I am confronted with the devil to tempt me to sin again. Amen.

2 thoughts on “Humble Before God

Leave a Reply

