Embracing the Will of God

Leave a comment

April 20, 2011 by bobet888

The Lord GOD is my help; who will prove me wrong?

Isaiah 50:4-9

April 20, 2011 Bible Reading and Gospel

Suffering is present at every turn of life. Our tendency is to flee from it, to avoid it. This holds true from the small scratch we get when we first fall off our bicycle to the profound sorrow we feel when a friend betrays us. When we feel pain, we take every means in our power to get rid of it. In today ’s society, there is a medicine to alleviate any pain or suffering we might feel. Yet, in every suffering, there is a lesson, and we remember the lesson better when we have suffered to learn it. Christ foresaw his rejection, suffering, and death; yet did not flee them. He embraced them as a way of showing his most profound love: “No one has greater love than this, to lay down one’s life for one’s friends ” (John 15:13). It is what parents do when they give their children their time and attention. It is what real friends do when they serve without counting the cost. It is what we do when we help someone in need.

– by Father Paul Hubert, LC | Source: Catholic.net

Universal Prayer of Pope Clement XI:
Lord, I believe in you: Help me to believe more firmly. I trust in you: Help me to trust more surely. I love you: Help me to love you more ardently. I am sorry for my sins: Help me to deepen my sorrow.

Leave a Reply

