The Grace of Surrender

4

June 27, 2011 by bobet888

When Jesus saw a crowd around him,
he gave orders to cross to the other shore.
A scribe approached and said to him,
“Teacher, I will follow you wherever you go.”
Jesus answered him, “Foxes have dens and birds of the sky have nests,
but the Son of Man has nowhere to rest his head.”
Another of his disciples said to him,
“Lord, let me go first and bury my father.”
But Jesus answered him, “Follow me,
and let the dead bury their dead.”

Matthew 8:18-22

June 27, 2011 Bible Reading and Gospel

Jesus makes it very clear to those who want to follow Him that it will not be an easy life. The life of discipleship is about being disciplined in all things especially those that have to do with our faith. This means being willing to make the hard choices involved in avoiding sin and doing good. If we are not ready to do this then we had better pray for the grace of surrender because the longer we leave such a decision, the more difficult it will get.

Free me, Lord, from whatever is pulling me back from taking my spiritual journey seriously. Amen.

source: KerygmaFamily

4 thoughts on “The Grace of Surrender

  1. […] The Grace of Surrender (bibletweets.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] The Grace of Surrender (bibletweets.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] The Grace of Surrender (via Bible Tweets) Posted on July 11, 2011 by loopyloo305 When Jesus saw a crowd around him, he gave orders to cross to the other shore. A scribe approached and said to him, “Teacher, I will follow you wherever you go.” Jesus answered him, “Foxes have dens and birds of the sky have nests, but the Son of Man has nowhere to rest his head.” Another of his disciples said to him, “Lord, let me go first and bury my father.” But Jesus answered him, “Follow me, and let the dead bury their dead.” – Matthew 8:18- … Read More […]

  4. […] The Grace of Surrender (via Bible Tweets) Posted on July 11, 2011 by loopyloo305 When Jesus saw a crowd around him, he gave orders to cross to the other shore. A scribe approached and said to him, “Teacher, I will follow you wherever you go.” Jesus answered him, “Foxes have dens and birds of the sky have nests, but the Son of Man has nowhere to rest his head.” Another of his disciples said to him, “Lord, let me go first and bury my father.” But Jesus answered him, “Follow me, and let the dead bury their dead.” – Matthew 8:18- … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

