Fight The Good Fight

1

June 29, 2011 by bobet888

I, Paul, am already being poured out like a libation,
and the time of my departure is at hand.
I have competed well; I have finished the race;
I have kept the faith.
From now on the crown of righteousness awaits me,
which the Lord, the just judge,
will award to me on that day, and not only to me,
but to all who have longed for his appearance.

The Lord stood by me and gave me strength,
so that through me the proclamation might be completed.

2 Timothy 4:6-8, 17-18

June 29, 2011 Bible Reading and Gospel

(In the First Reading) Peter is miraculously freed from prison after having been arrested by Herod. This demonstrates the degree to which God is willing to intervene in human affairs to allow His will to be accomplished. There was still much for Peter to do, so God frees him to continue the work of building the Church. We have to learn to trust that things happen according to the permissive will of God, trusting always that God will bring good from the situation.

Paul explains (in 2nd Reading) to Timothy that he is willing to pour out his life as a libation for the sake of the Gospel. Are we willing to fight the good fight, so to speak, when it comes to giving our lives in the service of the Gospel or do we have other agendas for our lives? Let us be honest as we examine our motives for doing the things we do and seek to surrender more to God’s will rather than our own.

Grant me, Lord, the grace to follow you radically as Sts. Peter and Paul did. Amen.

source: KerygmaFamily

One thought on “Fight The Good Fight

  1. […] Fight The Good Fight (bibletweets.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

