Free From Sin, Free To Love

Leave a comment

February 12, 2012 by bobet888

“I do will it. Be made clean.”
The leprosy left him immediately, and he was made clean.

Mark 1 : 40 – 45

February 12, 2012 Bible Reading and Gospel

Leprosy was a fatal disease. It separated a man from his family and drove him outside his village to lonely places. Leprosy is a symbol for sin. Sin separates us from God and from others.

Sin keeps us from being who we were meant to be. “Everyone who commits sin is a slave to sin” (John 8:34). Jesus was free from sin and so was free to love and serve others. He wasn’t compelled by greed or anger. He wasn’t moved by pride or impeded by laziness. He was free to love, and he loved to the extent of dying on a cross. Sin closes us in on ourselves. We get absorbed in ourselves and others take the back seat – or no seat at all. 

Christ can free us from sin so that we are empowered to love as he loves.

Jesus, I want to be free, but I need your help. Without you, I can do nothing. Help me to trust you and to turn to you. Don’t let me go off on my own as if I could keep fighting without you. Free me to love you. Free me to love others.                 

source: Catholic.net        

Leave a Reply

