The Challenge of a True Follower of Christ

Leave a comment

February 17, 2012 by bobet888

“Whoever wishes to come after me must deny himself,take up his cross, and follow me.”

Mark 8:34 – 9:1

February 17, 2012 Bible Reading and Gospel

Nothing teaches Christ’s lesson better than the crosses that have surprised us, the crosses that were not planned or wanted. Every step with these crosses on our backs is true following, true loving, true salvation without delusion or bitterness. 

“The cross of Christ” is not just the rightful assumption of the weight of a holy life, it is also an attitude. The wrong attitude can crush our spirits and make us suffer like a pagan: alone. Humble faith reveals the One we follow, who shows us the way, who sustains our hope, and who leads us to profound Christian joy. 

Lord, bring my soul to the cross without fear, trusting in its mysterious power to change me and the world around me. I should not withdraw from life when it wounds me. I should not seek pity or human consolation when a dark moment prevails. What is needed is simply a true disciple who will rally his soul behind the cross of the Lord and march forward, assured of victory. May I resolve in every low moment, when Christ asks for more from me, to live the resolution of Blessed Teresa of Calcutta: “A hearty ‘Yes’ to God, and a big smile for all”.

source: Catholic.net

Leave a Reply

