Humble Confession, Strong Conviction

Leave a comment

February 20, 2012 by bobet888

Jesus said to him,
“‘If you can!’ Everything is possible to one who has faith.”
Then the boy’s father cried out,
“I do believe, help my unbelief!””

Mark 9 : 14 – 29

February 20, 2012 Bible Reading and Gospel


Believing is not easy. It requires a constant recognition of our limitations, our inability to understand the “why’s” of so many occurrences, the “how’s” of so many challenges. This humble confession must come to rest always on the greatness of God’s power and the comprehensiveness of his love. Jesus does not rebuke the struggle to believe but rather the lack of effort when we stop believing. What the apostles failed to do was done by the father with one intense but short prayer: “Help my unbelief!” This humble confession always comes to rest on the greatness of God’s power and the comprehensiveness of his love. Do I believe that everything is possible if I only believe? 

Lord, grant me an increase of faith! Help me to see you present and active in my everyday life. May I never undertake any work or responsibility without determining first your will and counting on your assistance. I believe that you can do all things in me, according to your own will. I believe your will is committed to what is best for me. Teach me to pray and work with great faith and trust in you.

source: Catholic.net  

Leave a Reply

