Learning Christ’s Way

Leave a comment

February 21, 2012 by bobet888

“Whoever receives one child such as this in my name, receives me;
and whoever receives me,
receives not me but the One who sent me.”

Mark 9 : 30 – 37

February 21, 2012 Bible Reading and Gospel

Our desire is more to “get our way,” “make our point” or “affirm ourselves.”  Learning Christ’s way requires that we in some way unlearn our own ways.  “He must increase, but I must decrease” (John 3:30). This explains why no one can be neutral before Christ; he challenges us to change our life.

To be last, to serve, to give your life makes you great, since this is how God comes to us. Only the sight of Jesus crucified would burn this lesson more deeply on their hearts. 

Dear Lord, open my heart to listen to your will for me. Free me from my own self-love, ideas and dreams. Teach me to die to myself as I enter into prayer and as I enter into work. Help me to work, pray and live so that you and your love can rise up in my life in place of the poverty of my own qualities and efforts.

source: Catholic.net      

Leave a Reply

