Bearing Fruits of Repentance

1

February 29, 2012 by bobet888

“At the judgment the men of Nineveh will arise with this generation
and condemn it,
because at the preaching of Jonah they repented,
and there is something greater than Jonah here.”

Luke 11 : 29 – 32

February 29, 2012 Bible Reading and Gospel

God does not desire the death of the sinner, but that the sinner change and be saved. Jonah and the Ninevites show that sin in itself is never an obstacle to the path of God. God can forgive and make the sinner a saint. The problem lies rather in attachment to sin and in the resistance to change and belief. 

I have received innumerable graces from God and incomparable blessings. What fruits of repentance and change have I allowed this grace to produce? Who knows if those I look down on would not be farther along on the path of holiness had they received the blessings and opportunities God has given me. Many others have done more with less. Humility, compunction and gratitude with God are more in order than that hidden pride, self-sufficiency and conceit I at times feel. I need to strive to show the fruits of repentance every day.

Lord Jesus, thank you for your warning and your wake-up call. Help me have heartfelt humility, recognizing my need for change. Help me not to look so much at how good I am, as at how much I can improve. Teach me the humility of truth.

source: Catholic.net       

One thought on “Bearing Fruits of Repentance

  1. […] Bearing Fruits of Repentance (bibletweets.wordpress.com) 44.051952 -123.002795 Rate this: Share this good news…TwitterFacebookEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

