Humbled in Earth, Exalted in Heaven

Leave a comment

March 7, 2012 by bobet888

“You know that the rulers of the Gentiles lord it over them,
and the great ones make their authority over them felt.
But it shall not be so among you.
Rather, whoever wishes to be great among you shall be your servant;
whoever wishes to be first among you shall be your slave.
Just so, the Son of Man did not come to be served but to serve
and to give his life as a ransom for many.”

Matthew 20 : 17 – 28

March 7, 2012 Bible Reading and Gospel

Human recognition is passing. It doesn’t even last us a lifetime. Even in heaven, human recognition will be useless— because our eyes will be fixed on God, not on each other or ourselves. However, we do know by faith that God will reward us in heaven according to our merits. He will exalt us for serving others, especially when we bring others to love and serve him.

Dear Jesus,  I compare myself with others. It’s easy for me to find or imagine my superiority. I ignore you and your great goodness. I forget that everything I have comes from you and that I can’t claim credit for any of my qualities and virtues although I would like to. Help me to keep this truth in mind so as to have an attitude of genuine humility in my heart. 

source: Catholic.net      

Leave a Reply

