From Selfishness to Selflessness

Leave a comment

May 29, 2012 by bobet888

Jesus said, “Amen, I say to you,
there is no one who has given up house or brothers or sisters
or mother or father or children or lands
for my sake and for the sake of the Gospel
who will not receive a hundred times more now in this present age.”

Mark 10 : 28 – 31

May 29, 2012 Bible Reading and Gospel

Christ wants each one of us to be rich and to experience the hundredfold, but this richness that he guarantees is an interior treasure. It comes in the measure with which we are ready to be selfless and to give of ourselves to our brothers and sisters.

Lord Jesus, I want to experience this “hundredfold” in my life, but I find that many times I choose only to do the things I want to do. Instead of fostering peace and joy in my heart, I experience emptiness because of my self-love. Give me the grace, Lord, to be able to break through my selfishness to make room for your grace, which fosters happiness in the midst of daily trials.

source: Catholic.net Daily Devotions      

Leave a Reply

