God Commands, “Listen to My Son”

2

March 20, 2011 by bobet888

…his face shone like the sun and his clothes became white as light.

Matthew 17:1-9


March 20, 2011 Bible Reading and Gospel


The transfiguration of the Lord is a revelation of His inner Self in all Its intrinsic glory and beauty. It is a cry that comes from His deepest within that refuses to regard the physical as the ultimate basis of perfection.

“This is my Beloved Son. Listen to Him,” declares the Father. We fix our eyes on Jesus and we see the real meaning of our otherwise seemingly meaningless sufferings. Through Jesus ’ words we learn the value of our sufferings even when our sufferings seem to have little, if any, value at all. With Jesus, through Jesus, and in Jesus we are able to transform our crosses into sources of grace, our death into life, our brokenness into perfection. Thus, while transfiguration is for Jesus, configuration to Jesus is for us. The challenge for us is to follow not only what Jesus said but how Jesus lived. May we become more and more like Jesus.

by Father Bobby Titco

Jesus, help me to open my heart and mind to the truth of the Scriptures so that I will be able to discern their true meaning and know how to apply them to my own life. Amen.

2 thoughts on “God Commands, “Listen to My Son”

  1. […] God Commands, “Listen to My Son” (bibletweets.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment